From the Moby video:

1 musicians have day jobs; take more DIY approach.
Moby says that most of the musicians he knows also have day jobs. This is pretty consistent from what I’ve seen in my experiences. I know there are musicians out there who can support themselves by playing music, but they are usually in cover bands and splitting a $500 payout for a night between 5 people, they’d need to play 4-5 gigs a week to equal a 9-5 job.

2. Record companies aren’t going to be around in 5 years.
In one of my earlier blogs, I wrote about the changing music industry. Record labels are on their way out. Musicians are now taking a diy approach, cutting out the middle man.

3. There is now more of a redistribution of “wealth” in the music industry.
I found it interesting that indie musicians and labels are starting to bring in more of a share of music equity, whether it be downloads, cd sales, youtube hits etc. With the decline of the record industry now the little guy can compete.

Documentary:

1: people want less choice. They want recommendations and to be told what to listen to. I found this absurd on a personal level. I have never wanted to be told what to listen to. I like to be completely surprised. I haven’t cared much for the music that has been shoved down our throats by record labels and radio stations. For the record, I mostly listen to independent music. If I am listening to broadcast radio, you’d better believe it’s npr. The rest of the time I have my entire music library with me on my 80Gb iPod. For me personally, radio is irrelevant, and I hope that catches on for more people.

2. If all music became free then people would recognize the need for experts.
If all music cost the same to the consumer, then yes, the need would be recognized for expert producers. However, some of us prefer a more lo-fi, diy approach to the sound of music. If we only listened to music produced by the giants, we never would have the beautiful music of Elliott Smith, Nick Drake, or Mark Schwaber.

3. Most acts establish themselves on their own. Without the need of a label.
This is the most exciting thing about music today. Thanks to the internet, we all have a chance to be heard. Do good work and the people will find it.

4. Whoever creates the new filter is going to make money. There is no longer a filter to what is “good.”

This also really bothers me. The thought of people telling us what is good. Good is the most subjective term we can use in terms of music. What the filter says is good is complete rubbish to me. I care more about music that feels honest and from the heart. It would be a cold day in hell before I listened to something that was decried from the top as good and what we should be listening to.

5. Don’t call yourself a record company today. Need a whole package.
This is good advice. Record companies are toxic. I wish they would die completely and never come back. Music is art, it shouldn’t be a commodity. Music should be free, not raped by those seeking profit. The sooner we get away from the record label model, the sooner art and music will truly be free.

